The Mud House Way

15 Min., HD, Farbe, Stereo
D 2018, Original mit Engl. UT

Konzept, Kamera, Schnitt: Eva C. Heldmann 
Sprecherin: Danielle Motlhokathari-Schmidt
gelesen aus: "Sekgabe Ntshwarisang. Occupation: traditional hut-builder". in "Serowe. Village of the rain", 1981, von Bessie Head "Bauen mit Lehm", 1985. von Manfred Gerner
Dank an: Familie Motekwane, Nnana B. Gaseitsiwe, Golebaone Kgosiemang, Familie Franz, Dennis Couzin

In a black-and-white photo from the family album, I, aged two, and my great-aunt are depicted in front of half-timbered houses made with clay. I grew up in such a house. These houses and their material still interest me. How are the houses built?

In 2013 I start filming mud houses in Botswana, Southern Africa. In a house in the Kalahari Desert lives a family. The house was built in the traditional way with mud (including clay, sand and cow dung), wood and grass, and is traditionally furnished. Another house is being repaired and plastered. Wall building is women's work; "If she liked help and wanted the house quickly, she would say to the other women: 'Come and join me in the work.'" (Bessie Head, 1981)

In Kanye, a village-town on the edge of the Kalahari, I filmed a mud house on the royal grounds. The royal family built the house about 60 years ago for its first-born daughter. The mud house was inhabited until 2008, most recently by a migrant craftsman from South Africa. Ever since the house was vacated, it has been falling apart. Rain drips through the holey roof. And in fast rhythms, the sun burns its lightplay onto the mud wall.

The photo of me and my great-aunt was taken in the Hessian village of Offdilln, where one part of my family comes from. Two of the family's half-timbered houses still exist, a barn and the old blacksmith's shop, both decaying. The barn was used as a holiday home and has been vacant for about 30 years. The blacksmith's shop, protected as a historic building, needs support from scaffolding. Gradually the outer lime crumbles, exposing the wickerwork with clay, which crumbles next. 

 

The houses are slowly decaying under the burden of rain and storm. They are built from earth and will be returned to earth - unless we decide to keep them.

The Mud House Way

The Mud House Way

15 Min., HD, Farbe, Stereo
D 2018, Original mit Engl. UT

Konzept, Kamera, Schnitt: Eva C. Heldmann 
Sprecherin: Danielle Motlhokathari-Schmidt
gelesen aus: "Sekgabe Ntshwarisang. Occupation: traditional hut-builder". in "Serowe. Village of the rain", 1981, von Bessie Head "Bauen mit Lehm", 1985. von Manfred Gerner
Dank an: Familie Motekwane, Nnana B. Gaseitsiwe, Golebaone Kgosiemang, Familie Franz, Dennis Couzin

Auf einer s/w Fotografie aus dem Familienalbum sind meine Großtante und ich als 2jährige vor Fachwerkhäusern aus Lehm abgebildet. Ich bin in solch einem Haus aufgewachsen.
Die Häuser und das Material interessieren mich. Wie sind die Häuser gebaut?

Im Jahr 2013 beginne ich, Lehmhäuser im Südlichen Afrika / Botswana zu filmen. In einem Mud House in der Kalahari Wüste wohnt eine Familie. Das Haus wurde in traditioneller Weise mit Lehm, Sand, Kuhdung, Holz und Gras gebaut, es ist traditionell eingerichtet. Ein anderes Haus wird ausgebessert und verputzt. Hausbau ist Frauenarbeit; "If she liked help and wanted the house quickly, she would say to the other women: ‘Come and join me in the work.’" Von Bessie Head, 1981. 
In Kanye, einem Großdorf am Rande der Kalahari filme ich ein Haus auf dem Grundstück des Fürsten. Die Fürstenfamilie baute es vor ca. 60 Jahren für die erstgeborene Tochter. Bis 2008 war das Haus bewohnt - zuletzt von einem Wanderarbeiter aus Südafrika. Seit dem das Haus leer steht, zerfällt es. Regen tropft durch das löchrige Dach. Und in schnellem Rhythmus brennt die Sonne ihr Lichterspiel auf die Lehm Wand.

Das Foto von mir und meiner Großtante ist im Hessischen Dorf Offdilln aufgenommen, aus dem  ein Teil meiner Familie stammt. Zwei der Fachwerkhäuser der Familie sind noch erhalten, eine Scheune und die alte Schmiede, beide im Verfall begriffen.  Die Scheune wurde als Ferienhaus genutzt und steht seit ca. 30 Jahren leer. Die Schmiede ist denkmalgeschützt, sie muss von einem Baugerüst gestützt werden. Zwischen den Balken löst sich allmählich der Lehm und das Weidengeflecht wird sichtbar.

Die Häuser verfallen langsam unter dem Einfluss von Regen und Sturm. Sie sind aus Erde gebaut und werden wieder zu Erde - es sei denn, wir entschließen uns, sie zu erhalten.